Some believe technology has made our lives too complex and the solution is to lead a simpler life without technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely-held belief that the simplicity of our lives has been impacted by technological advances, especially during the last century, and our lifestyle has turned into a more complicated one. Some believe in solving this matter by living a more simple life without using technology. I can not entirely agree with this notion due to the rationale which will be explained in this essay. Technology has offered a host of virtues in our lifestyles. Firstly, the most positive aspect may be that the advances in technology have led to many breakthroughs in different medical fields. These discoveries have substantially led to the development of diverse treatment ways of disparate diseases. For instance, many illnesses that required hospitalization to be managed in the last decades can be controlled by oral medications daily at patients’ homes nowadays. This action brings about a more straightforward life for patients and their families than before and would not be possible without technology. Moreover, by the leading-edge technology, people can have long-distance communication with each other with their devices through voice or video calls, which leads to an effortless way of contacting under special circumstances. For example, during the Covid-19 crisis and the lockdown, people could do teleworking and actively participate in their working meetings online from their houses. Thus, technology brings about a new simpler method of communication in the modern world. Admittedly, those who agree with the omission of technology from life to live more simply may have adapted to the conventional ways of life and are afraid of changing their habits. An alternative hypothesis may be that they do not have the know-how to use modern technology; thus, they refuse it. However, not using technology in today’s modern world not only may lead to a more complicated life, but also bring about isolation from the world around us. To conclude, it appears that advances in technology have positively influenced our lives and made living conditions more bearable for us, such as in disease conditions or the lockdowns due to them. Nevertheless, there are always people who cannot or do not want to adapt to new transformations.