Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed, than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

These days majority of people choose to be a freelancer, instead of working for private companies or government sectors. This essay will first look at the causes of this phenomenon, and explore the downsides of being self-employed. The primary reason that many people do not want to work in organizations is inflexible working hours. Employees have to stay in their workplace from nine to five, or even worse in some companies, from eight to seven. Their leisure time is ripped off by their boss. For instance, more than 40 per cent of workers in Bangkok said that they have to work overtime to cover their bills. Moreover, in Asian countries where seniority still dominates, the boss has all power and can order their staff to work overtime without getting paid. In contrast, working as a full-time employee offer job security. Workers do not have to take much responsibility compared to a company owner. Plus, they only follow the job descriptions. Unlike self-employment, business owners need to know every single process clearly so that they can manage their business well. Additionally, income in each month is unpredictable. It is true that all net profit owners receive will be theirs, however, there is a tendency to lose money as well. Finally, no employment benefits, like sick pays and holiday pay, are offered. All financial burdens will be responsible by owners. To sum up, the main reason why self-employment becomes popular is flexible working hours and being their own boss. Nevertheless, many drawbacks such as high risk, high responsibility, unstable salary, and no welfare, should be considered.