Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

In this competitive world education & employment plays a huge role; even though new colleges are popping up in every street corner, today's generation prefer to study & get employed in cities rather than in rural areas. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind the above choice of Youngsters and how it out-weight the disadvantages. The education system has improved so much in the towns as many Colleges and Universities have opened & students have various programs to choose from. Jobs are vastly available as factories, office complexes, hotels, shopping centres and amusement parks are widely spread in the cities. Hence making it convenient for the students to get employed as they complete their academics. In addition to this as of the development lot of construction work also takes place offering even more vacancies. In contrast, if the educational institutions are opened in rural areas, the transportation problem will play a huge role, as public buses are not available in most of the places. Hence making it difficult for the students to travel to and from colleges. For example, a couple of institutions in Sri Lanka that opened in the Wattala area have closed down in recent times as travelling has become the major drawback. In conclusion, leaving the rural areas and moving to the cities to acquire education & work placement is a better idea than trying to survive in the same position. Young people are the backbone of our future, so giving them the best academic background and making way for them to get the best of experience in their desired field is more important.