Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and polution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In recent years, growing traffic and its pollution have been a global issue. There are many people who think that increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve this issue. Nevertheless, I completely disagree with this approach and in this essay, I will propose alternative solutions. To begin with the side effect of this solution, the price of petrol is one of the vital tools for a government to stabilize macro-economic, particularly in inflation. For instance, if the petrol fare dramatically increases, the manufacturing cost will potentially climb up and as a consequence, the cost of goods sold will get more expensive. In some cases, the option for the business owner is lowering their profit or marking up the product price. From the government’s shoes, both of the alternatives are disadvantageous because they will reduce tax's income or reduce society’s purchasing power. As an alternative solution, the government must shift people’s paradigm in commuting with public transportation. Campaigning the benefits of this activity should be endorsed massively, such as the efficiency of commuting expenses. In addition, people can spend their time effectively by optimizing their time during going to the office. However, this strategy will run well if the transportation facilities have met minimum requirements, namely providing comfortable vehicles and making sure all of the city areas is fully covered. To sum up, creating a policy to make pricey petrol is not the best solution to decrease the traffic volume and the pollution problem. This is because this approach can cause unexpected negative impacts.