Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in an area. Others believe that local councils should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some, all houses of the same area should look alike, no matter when they were built. While others believe that people have to have a right to choose the appearance of buildings in their neighbourhood. I think that the houses are an important part of city culture and have to be moderated by the government. To start with, many tourists learn the history or the culture of the country through its houses, buildings, constructions. Also, a similar style creates a unified appearance of the city and a harmonic view. For example, by the law of Saint-Petersburg, every building in the city centre should not be higher than 5 or 6 floors, just like in the days of the Russian Empire, when the oldest and the most beautiful part of the city was built. Moreover, outdoor ads or signage have to be minimalistic in order not to distract from the architecture of the city. Thus, old and new architectures match each other. However, sometimes houses do not hold any historical importance. Each of them seems the same: grey and boring. Besides, old types of buildings might be not suitable for comfortable modern life. For instance, all around Russia, especially in Moscow, there are lots of houses called “Khrushchevky” by the name of the Soviet leader Nikita Khruschev. These buildings have thin walls, problems with heating and Internet connection as well. The exterior of these blocks of flats is made out of grey bricks and looks grimly. The government of Moscow is trying to destroy these houses and change them with different ones. In conclusion, while planning new neighbourhoods, people have to take into account the past of the city, respect it and do not create something unusual and unsuitable.