Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Culture can be defined not only by the language of a country but also by the typical food, literature, art and history. Some people believe that is essential to speak the language of a country in order to fully understand its culture. From my point of view, speaking the country ’s language can help to understand its culture, but is not the only pre-requisite. However, I believe the customs of a society can be understood by reading about their past, looking at their architecture and by trying their typical food Several countries have totally different cultures despite sharing the same mother tongue, such as Portugal and Brasil, Spain and Mexico, The United Kingdom and The United States. Therefore their language doesn’t define their culture. To speak the language of a country may help to communicate with the locals and to discover details that are not written in books or easily found on the internet, but this can also be achieved by taking other paths. In Berlin, for example, one can notice modern buildings in the middle of old and partial destroyed ones, these details show a city that was rebuilt after a big war that became part of those people culture. In addition, the cuisine can also give valuable clues about how that society lived in the past. The famous Italian Pizza, which is made by a random selection of ingredients on a dough, was created to avoid wasting cooking, this can depict that Italians were a poor society sometime in the past. Furthermore, studying the literature and visiting museums can also contribute to learning about the customs Time is another important factor that helps to understand the culture. The longer someone spends in a foreign country, the closer he or she is to fully understanding its culture. It can take years to have the chance to try different dishes, look at the architecture from other perspectives and visit most of the museums. For this reason, an immigrant that had the chance not just to get in contact with locals but also to live like them will be closer to fully understand their culture, than a tourist that has just spent one weekend visiting the city. In conclusion, to understand the culture of a country, it might help to speak its language but is not essential. Spending the necessary time in the place and trying different dishes, visiting enough museums to understand the History, getting lost in the streets and observing the details of the architecture, in my opinion, contribute much more to understand the culture of a country than to speak its language.