Some people think that children should be taught at school to recycle materials and avoid waste. Other people believe that children should be taught this at home. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It has long been a subject of discussion whether schools have the responsibility to teach students the importance of recycling or whether they should learn from their parents. In my opinion, combined efforts, be it schools or parents are required to educate children about the importance of recycling. On the one hand, some believe that children should learn about waste control at home because parents have more opportunity and time than school. This is because,from a very early age, parents can teach young ones how to recycle, even before school starts. Therefore, parents have the opportunity to instil a sense of environmental ethics. Furthermore, children spend a lot of time at home. Therefore, parents can set a good example themselves by recycling different items. For example, how to deal with plastic bottles and cardboard. Youngsters are good at imitation behaviour, for this reason, when they observe their parents at home, they tend to follow. On the other, people believe that schools are the main sources of learning and therefore, children should learn waste control in schools. This is because sometimes even parents are not aware of proper methods of recycling. However, schools can play a role in teaching parents about recycling through children. Moreover, educators are aware of different teaching methodologies, which can be fun for students in the class. One example, teachers can teach students how to make crafts out of plastic bottles and tote bags from old clothes. This could be fun and teaching at the same time for children. In conclusion, children spend more time at home; therefore, they have more time to learn recycling at home. However, the primary aim of schools are teachings that include all the aspects of life. In my opinion, both parents and schools have mutual responsibility in the aggregate to teach children about recycling.