Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

The idea of teaching a second language from grade school is troublesome or useful has been a controversial issue for a long time for the education system. In this essay, I will try to analyze the pros and cons of this issue at length in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, teaching a foreign tongue in primary school has a couple of advantages. The main advantage is that learning a language early is a blessing because it can be more successful to achieve fluency in the new language in adult life. As a result, they can gain more and better job opportunities in the future. For example, according to a study carried out, in one of the developed countries those kinds of job seekers that can speak a second language can gain high-level job positions rather than others. On the other hand, teaching an early second language can also have its drawbacks. the significant one is that pupils would earn fewer marks in other lessons. this can be because the language barrier in starting education tend to less focus on the primary lesson such as math and physic. to illustrate, a recent study on some schools that start teaching the second language in the elementary level students. more likely, there has seen a decrease in the grade point average of their children. In conclusion, as can be seen from the point in this essay there are both advantages and disadvantages to learning a foreign language in primary schools. Whilst there are many advantages to this, a significant negative impact would be decreased marks in essential lessen. If managed in the right way, however, I feel that overall the advantages would outweigh the disadvantages.