The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology that can prevent and solve crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The role of technological advancement in modern life is an undeniable fact. The crime rate has been declining due to the improvement of technology. This essay will argue why it is completely agreed that technology has affected the crime rate. On the one hand, nowadays, punishments are not based on judge’s opinion; they rely on evidence that they did not exist in the past, such as fingerprints, DNA, CCTV’s, etc. This improvement saves time in court; consequently, the jury can concentrate more on details. Additionally, mass media play a crucial role. Governments use social media to make people aware of the legal system. Moreover, if police officers inform people about common crimes such as cybercrimes and phishing, people will be more conscious; as a result, the rate of anti-social behaviour would reduce gradually. On the other hand, many low-tech crimes are still being committed. The majority of offenders are not well-educated, and they do not have enough information to use technology. In addition, they are under appaling conditions and in deep poverty. In other words, providing more job opportunities and re-education are the best ways to control crime. For example, it is recorded that in a developed country that the rate of unemployment is short, the rate of crime is by far less than in other countries. In conclusion, although using technology is beneficial to control the crime rate, there are negligible occasions that technology would not be helpful. In my opinion, using technology is an effective way to overcome the crime rate.