Nowadays a growing number of boys and girls within normal weight ranges have an intense fear of gaining weight and therefore get anorexia. Why do you think a lot of teenagers have a strong desire to be skinny? What can be done to prevent this eating disorder?

In recent years, the desire to be slim and fit within teenagers has increased so much. It would lead them to diseases such as Anorexia nervosa. Firstly, I think social media plays a vital role in intensifying the fear of weight gain because it forces people, especially the young generation who want to be fit. Girls and boys look up to social celebrities and social media influencers and believe that skinny is the ideal body image. Many are unsure about their bodies and want to get into shape to feel better. Moreover, harsh judgments and body shaming of people severely impact their mental well-being and eventually start affecting the diseases such as obesity, anorexia, diabetes, insomnia, low blood pressure, dry or yellowish skin, etc. Secondly, it is really necessary that people, particularly teenagers maintain their mental and physical health. They should try to surround themselves in a positive environment and stay away from toxic people. The therapy method is a great opportunity which girls and boys can speak openly about what is bothering them. Furthermore, to prevent this disorder, a balanced nutritional diet needs to be maintained with exercises such as walking which strengthens the heart and burns calories. Moreover, some types of food are considered to be unhealthy which can cause long-term health problems. This will lead to a healthier lifestyle. Also, it is very important that the social environment is positive and encouraging. In conclusion, it is recommended that to prevent and overcome eating disorders it is essential that mental and physical health is not compromised.