Modern technology has a great impact on our environment. Some say that people should adopt simple lifestyle to solve the problem while others argue that the technology itself should provide a solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology has vastly improved over the past few decades. Although modern technology provides the human race with several benefits, it also has a significant negative impact on our environment. Certain individuals would argue that adopting a simple lifestyle will solve this problem while others believe that the machinery in itself can be employed to provide a solution. I agree with the latter although the essay will discuss both perspectives of this debate. Those who argue a simple lifestyle as a solution would suggest that if individuals were to lower their use of technology this would allow for a reduction in their carbon footprint. For instance, if fewer people were likely to use laptops, it would reduce the demand for laptops as well. This lowers the production and manufacturing of the mentioned item, which means fewer exhaust fumes are released into the surroundings from factories that are dedicated to its production. Thus, a simple lifestyle allows for a reduction in the detrimental effect on the environment. On the other hand, those who believe that this automation in itself will provide a solution to the environmental impact it has caused will suggest that these advancements can be developed to be more eco-friendly. For instance, in recent times we have witnessed machines employed to clean our oceans and beaches and eradicate them from human-waste pollution. Similarly, there have been greener machinery and equipment used in factories to minimize the amount of waste generated through their production process. Thus, it is apparent that technology can be efficiently employed to reduce the effect it has on its surroundings. In conclusion, though both sides present compelling arguments. I believe that technology is ultimately the best way in which we can minimize the negative effect on the environment and allow for a greener future.