More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is evident that the number of overweight children in developed countries is rising at a significant pace. There are a number of underlying causes for this prominent health concern, a few of which are discussed below. The primary reason for the existence of childhood obesity within countries like the USA is technological advancement. As technology develops and children gain more access to mobile phones and computer-based games, this limits the amount of exercise they are likely to receive on a daily basis. For example, modern-day youth are more likely to spend time in their rooms scrolling on social media than go outside and play a game with their friends. This lack of exercise due to technological distractions leads to them being overweight. Similarly, the consumption of an unhealthy diet is another cause of this health concern. Wealthy countries, like the USA and UK, are more likely to attract fast-food chains as these companies believe that their products will be better received in these places. As a result of this, individuals are more likely to consume these processed food items from an early age. For instance, the average child in the USA consumes a far greater amount of fast food than healthy home-cooked meals. Thus, the prevalence of unhealthy dietary habits directly contributes to the rise in childhood obesity. The effect of more children being overweight, is that it will cause added pressure to the governments as they will have to allocate greater funding towards healthcare as these youth are likely to develop other health conditions such as diabetes or cardiovascular problems due to their weight. Furthermore, the education of these children will suffer as they may fall ill constantly due to this disease and thus, may not be able to consistently attend their school classes. In conclusion, the issue of childhood obesity within these developed countries is concerning and governments need to take a suitable course of action in order to reduce its impacts.