Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traveling on roads or railways, which one would you prefer? A romantic person might suggest railways indeed whereas a realistic person would find roads and highways more practical. As a fact of this era we're living in, traffic is the most annoying and unfortunately the most unsolvable problem of the crowded cities. This brings us to the ultimate solution of using the public transportation instead of using cars. Trains, trams and the other variety of vehicles which are being transported through rails can make us save plenty of time while trying to get to somewhere. On the other hand, they also make governments save hundreds of million dollars by being more environment friendly. Not to mention that railroads need less maintenance than autobahns. However, for the people who really care about their privacy and comfort, traveling with their personal cars will always be their first choice. According to most of these people, public transportation is something that they cannot accept in terms of having personal space and secrecy. Also, being anti-environment friendly is not a real issue for these people as they only care about their comfort-zone. To conclude, it is obviously important to have a bit of personal luxury but who can deny the irresistible fun of meeting new people on a train on a rainy day? Aren’t you looking forward to seeing more and more countries investing in railways everyday? Shall we call for the help of the backpackers who travel around the world with InterRail? At last, they know better than us!