Online shopping becomes more common these days. What effect could this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

In recent years, online shopping has become more and more ubiquitous. This transition has negative impacts on the environment which are fossil fuel exploitation and overflowing garbage. Plus, several unskilled labours, traders and developers are required for production and delivery processes. The first and foremost effect resulting from the inflation of e-commerce is depleting energy resources which are extremely limited. As digital shopping is used internationally, the delivery process requires a vast amount of energy. Furthermore, using fossil fuel emits carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which will worsen the global warming situation. The experts from UNEP point out that if we keep burning coal and oil at this current rate, by 2050, the global temperature will rise by 2 degrees celsius, thus bringing about catastrophic and irreversible changes. Secondly, packaging waste is produced and subsequently abandoned to the environment. Some trash such as plastic can not be decomposed, and it is dangerous to animals if they eat it. Moreover, litter can destroy animal habitats, and contaminate water sources. Additionally, merchandise distribution required various career fields, ranging from unskilled labours, merchants to computer experts. A massive workforce is required for packing, unpacking and delivering. Merchants are for selling and satisfying customer demand. Lastly, software developers are also in need in order to build attractive online shopping platforms. In summary, the growth of virtual stores creates harmful ecological influences, in particular fossil fuel depletion and excess rubbish, which leads to climate change and ecosystem destruction. Besides, workers, traders and developers are needed for this phenomenon.