Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather that secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The importance attached to early exposure of a foreign tongue for kids is constantly on the rise, and children are encouraged to start learning a second language from primary education rather than until entering secondary schools. While these young learners can indeed benefit from that to some extent, I tend to believe that those merits pale compared to the negative consequences in terms of studying efficiency and, which will then be proved in my following essay. Starting language learning as early as possible is believed to improve the studying outcomes firstly because of their brain development and personality. Advocates argue that juvenile learners have a more active mindset and stronger curiosity, which can help them memorize vocabularies more quickly and remain enthusiastic about possible challenges. Another important positive aspect is that primary students tend to have more free time than their senior counterparts, and thus a larger amount of time can be devoted to the learning process. For example, unlike middle school children who have to attend various courses and get occupied by club activities, the younger ones can spend more hours reviewing, previewing and practising the second language they have learnt. In this way, it is likely that they can produce a more impressive academic performance. Nevertheless, it is worth noting that there are some downsides to starting over at such a young age. For one thing, the learning effectiveness can be inhibited since younger brains are not so capable of comprehending the abstract grammatical rules, let alone applying them. For instance, primary school students always get confused about the difference between two tongues, as they find it hard to avoid the interference of their mother tongue to the foreign one, so even they may recite the rules fast, they cannot genuinely understand and put them into practice. For another, allocating such a complicated course into primary education can take up a huge proportion of personal time for school kids, who may need more time and space to play and relax. There have been scores of teens overwhelmed by the tight school schedule, and the complexity of second language learning will definitely make it more exhausting. In a long run, the lack of entertainment and rest can pose a graving threat to the mental health of adolescents. To sum, even though younger learners may have some advantages in foreign tongue learning, they are truly sacrificing their time and energy which could have been put to recreation and relaxing. In the end, they still face the risk of ending up failing to achieve the expected performance.