Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a plethora of companies has a tendency to erect their offices without barriers and walls. Although open-space designs favor teamwork and supervision, I have a firm belief that this is a negative development due to the lack of privacy and concentration. Sharing the same working space with others is conducive to the collaboration of teams and the management of companies. Firstly, an open layout gives office workers more opportunities to mingle socially with their colleagues and enjoy others’ company. Therefore, they can foster a mutual understanding which can boost teamwork and morale. A good example is Apple, at their headquarters in California, there is nare any cubicles or private rooms, but open workspaces that can improve their teamwork and interaction between people. Secondly, open-space designs also help managers to supervise employees easier. This means that they can guarantee work ethics among offices members. Within barriers, they would not control what workers do and could not ensure both discipline and the work’s efficiency. Notwithstanding the obvious benefits of open layout, I strongly believe that entrepreneurs should not encourage this development due to being distracting and lacking privacy. Without cubicles or separate rooms, the employees’ concentration will be disrupted by noises from daily conversation or phone calls which are inevitable in communal spaces. Consequently, it could hurt the overall productivity and cause a fall in companies’ profit. In addition, open-space designs also reduce the privacy of workers. Undeniably, in centralized areas, daily activities such as calling or texting can be revealing for others, so it could be inconvenient for people to read confidential information or take a phone call related to personal matters. Hence, it can instill a sense of discomfort into employees. In conclusion, despite this trend favoring collaboration and supervision, the disadvantages outweigh its benefits since it has several detrimental impacts on privacy and concentration.