Many people around the world use social media everyday to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media is used in many parts of the world for information and communication purposes. Although it makes people target for other criminals, I contend that social media allows people to know each other and allow an exchange of knowledge regardless of their countries. One of the most advantageous reasons to use social media is that it connects people who have the same interests around the world. This is because, on these platforms, individuals could find groups and non-profit organizations that share the same hobbies or dreams. For example, avid readers find it easier to find friends who also have a strong feeling for books on Facebook rather than in school or in the neighbourhood. It develops a connection between strangers and could begin a relationship, Another point worth considering is that social media allows people to exchange news and information as they happen. With just a smartphone, people can upload videos of things they actually see without going through the editing process. This helps citizens to watch the events from a third-person perspective.So they can avoid falling into the trap of bad-intention activists. For instance, recently, there was a news article about a man who reported badly on a restaurant that refused to let him in because of his disability. It turns out to be an attempt of the man to become famous by getting pity from the public. However, some people argue that it is risky to go on those online platforms since it is where cyber crimes take place. This point has credibility as many Facebook or Twitter users are reported to be hacked and their personal information is leaked to illegal websites, but companies of these apps strengthen the firewalls and improve their programs to keep their users' information as safe as possible. In conclusion, the risk of coming across cyber criminals is outweighed by the information exchanged and the relationship can be found on social media.