Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts and artists have longly debated whether museums should focus on regional works rather than exposing cultures and works from abroad. Personally, I espouse the idea that art galleries should concentrate on giving lights to local performers. This essay will support the author’s opinion by citing the experience of art foundations in Morocco. First and foremost, the culture of countries represents the identity, the essence, and the spirit of nations. Consequently, by exposing the local traditions and roots, museums not only participate in promoting national artists, they moreover make the national heirlooms transmit from generation to generation, thus perpetuating the whole legacy of our ancestors. As an example, Mohamed 6 art gallery in Rabat is relevant, since this institution by itself contains thousands of magnificent collections of paints, relics, treasures, and antiquities related to ancient reigning dynasties in the Maghreb region. Millions of visitors can attend a variety of shows annually. Secondly, the government and deputies have the onus to support native designers, due to the major role they play in preserving and enhancing the national identity. However, showing foreign culture can outshine the regional creators leading to harmful results. Furthermore, expositions create many jobs, the country can derive many benefits from this act, for instance in the economic and cultural domains. In addition, shows attract many international tourists, thus enlarging economic profits. To sum up, this debate generated huge controversy between designers and the ministry of culture. It is certain that a tremendous endeavour is still required in order to find the right balance to satisfy both sides.