Prisoners should be sent to prisons for crimes committee. What's your opinion

There is an idea about throwing all the offenders to jail for the crime that they have committed. I am of mixed opinion about that. I fully wholeheartedly agree that criminals who have committed serious crimes for example murder, drug trafficking, and raping have to spend ages in prison as they are highly dangerous for society otherwise they are able to keep on offending and cause a great number of catastrophies for individuals and society. Furthermore, in order to make positive changes both behaviourly and perspectively it is necessary to start mandatory rehabilitation sessions in prison. In addition, it is vital to observe them carefully to ensure that they do not mingle with highly dangerous criminals like serial killers as they inevitably have negative impacts on other prisoners. Thus it could be a good idea to keep them in highly guarded prisonsprisons. On the other hand in my opinion minor criminals for instance pickpocketers, shoplifters should not be sent to prison and many of them could be punished by paying fines and signing commitments because nowadays a lot of prisons are constructed by the government as the number of offenders has rised which costs a great amount of money. In other words, it all needs tons of money both to take care of prisoners and build prisons as well as make training courses for them and feed them. Moreover in prison minor criminals have the chance to communicate with serious criminals which obviously is detrimental, consequently it might not sounds really reasonable to keep many wrongdoers in prison, however, I believe that persistant offernders have to spend proper time in prisons whether they committed a minor crime or not. In conclusion, we should think carefully about whether prison is suitable for all offenders ore there are alternative ways to punish them which do not cost a lot and are more effective at the same time.