Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

It is thought by some that it is beneficial to have a family-owned business. There are advantages of the family business but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are a number of benefits of a business that is run within the family. Firstly, in a family business, people work for themselves so, they will work harder and be more dedicated to taking their company to a new height and making it lucrative. Secondly, the business can be passed down through the generations. The new generations could learn numerous things at a very young age about business from their family members. As a result, they will be able to handle the business as they grow up without having to employ other unknown people. Thirdly, they have a flexible work schedule; they do not have to work from 9-5. This factor contributes towards increasing their efficiency and helps them to remain focused on their work. On the other hand, one drawback of a family business is that due to nepotism, family members might be promoted to higher positions instead of skilful non-related staff, and they might not have the required skills to be successful managers and directors. Thus, it will hamper the business resulting in mediocre business performance. Another downside is that business disputes can lead to family conflicts because issues become subjective rather than objective. Consequently, the bond between family members might be destroyed forever. In conclusion, there are benefits of having a family business, as the family members give their best because they are working for themselves, and they have a flexible work schedule. However, there are some drawbacks, such as nepotism, and family bonds might be damaged because of business disputes.