In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A gap year could be seen as valuable in the long run. It is all too common, for a student to take a year travelling or working after finishing high school. This essay will discuss some of the advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year. A gap year is intended to give a young person different perspectives, with the hopes it creates an impression on their future lives. One advantage of this venture can be getting a once lifetime opportunity. For example, volunteering abroad can give someone an opportunity to better understand a different culture and its systems. Another pro of a gap year is working. Not only can a student get a chance to earn work experience for their CV but also have an income they can use to pay for their education. A gap year can be very beneficial to students who are not certain about what studies they want to pursue. Amidst its man advantages, taking a gap year has some downfalls. Firstly, it is extremely expensive to travel. For instance, travelling abroad has both relocating and unforeseen costs, which most cannot afford. Secondly, it can be a waste of valuable time. If a student goes a year without going to school, they could lose their academic momentum making it harder for them to catch up. Taking a gap year is a high-risk decision which students should not consider lightly before leaping into. Gap years are encouraged in some places globally but can have some pitfalls. In summary, this essay discussed the advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year. I believe that the gap years should specifically be encouraged to individuals who are less certain about their future lives.