Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility for​ sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are a few people who suggest it is the authority's responsibility to manage the overconsumption of sucrose as they are unwell for our health. It is often argued that this is a positive action, whilst others disagree and think that it is each person's responsibility. This essay agrees that the authority has some responsibility in regulating sugar intake. The government needs to make a clear regulation regarding the consumption of sweets by creating a policy for the distribution of sweet products. Furthermore, the regulation may contain information about the maximum amount of sugar in certain products or specify how many sweets can be produced in one batch. It is therefore agreed that the rules will be made as a way the government contributes to controlling the consumption of sweets by the consumers. For instance, this rule will restrict those who usually consume an abundant amount of sugar to only half of it because producers made it less in the first place. However, many disagree as they believe that it is up to the individuals to control their sugar intake. The government can not be burdened with such a personal matter regarding people's health and humans will eventually learn their lesson if the effect of overconsuming sugar gets to them. Although there are some positive degrees to it, the authority should take their part in regulating this matter. For example, if there are a lot of patients that end up in the hospital for this matter, the authorities will have to handle a lot of health problems, such as obesity and diabetes. In conclusion, while the government takes action to control the overconsumption of sugar, some people still feel that it is a personal matter for each individual. However, as long as the authority can help reduce the health issues in a country, the benefits are clearly positive.