5. Some people believe that it is important to give gifts to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show that we care. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Gifts have been long known as a universal expression to portray love for the people we care about. Some people are of the opinion that sharing gifts with a loved one is the best way to show that we value them in our life whereas others believe that there are other means to show that. In this essay, I will discuss both points and express my opinion that helping with daily chores and showing appreciation every day are better ways of showing that we care. To start off, gifts are a social way of showing that we value the person involved. They are intended to be shared on special days such as Christmas, birthdays or other special events. Sometimes, people are also known to use it to buy their way out of trouble they caused in the first place. Based on regular social convention, the more valuable the gift, the more the other person means to us. Furthermore, there are other ways of showing that we show truly care: Helping out with daily activities when they need it most, going out of our way to be appreciative of their presence in our lives and making plans for movies, food will mean we are offering something that is priceless. Time, in essence, is far more valuable than a gift. The more time we spend with a loved one, the more appreciative they will be. In conclusion, gifts are a great way to show our loved ones that we care but the most valuable thing we can provide is our time.