As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The growing popularity of the online media has continued to dwindle the relevance of the print media. This is due to the ease at which information is circulated to a vast number of people at a time as well as the convenience and variety available in the internet. I concur with the statement as this essay will discuss the aforementioned points. First and foremost, the internet offers loads of information both current and old at every given time because of it's soft copy nature. This is achieved through the worldwide web which allows users type in any topic of choice and multiple results come up for the individual's perusal. For instance, I can simply go to google via my phone or my tablet and type in any topic of interest and plenty options pop up where I can follow developing and breaking news around the world. However this is not the case with the newspaper because the latter are in hard copies meaning they has been printed already and so contain limited information and must be updated the following day to have fresh stories. A second advantage the internet has over the newspaper is the share convenience of being able to access the internet from almost anywhere in the world. Almost all electronic devices and appliances obtainable in homes and offices can be used to access the internet which makes life less stressful and also, aid more productivity at work places. For example, in the many Television and radio broadcasting houses like where I currently work, correspondents from all over Nigeria send their reports and updates wit the help of the internet the internet which in turn makes work seamless. Newspapers on the other hand must be obtained or bought which means that an individual must walk or drive out as the case maybe to go and purchase a newspaper which makes it stressful although using the internet in this part of the world is mainly dependent on the availability of data subscription which is more costly in most cases that newspapers meaning that some individuals would still patronize the print media aftercall. To conclude, the internet is no doubt taking over the helm of affairs from the newspapers in their capacities to disseminate information for public consumption through its ability to give countless current and stale information at a time and the inconvenience the newspaper offers by having to go buy them.