Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages.

In the modern era, technology makes the world smaller. With social media, everybody feels connected with someone. Although there are some downsides to their use, I do believe the positives outweigh the negatives. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of social media and provide a logical conclusion. On the one hand, there is a number of benefits from using social networks to communicate. Firstly, they facilitate communication in modern times as now people can globally connect with old friends as well as new friends who share common interests. For Instance, Facebook and Instagram are providing services for 2.4 billion users who can choose to connect and interact with anyone they want. Secondly, people can get news all over the world. Moreover, social media works more independently. To illustrate, during the protest of Punjab farmers there is only social media that is used to updates about what is happening in India, whereas all Hindi and Punjabi news channels have no permissions to telecast about it. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of social media is that it replaces face-to-face interaction. Additionally, on social sites, people can fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online bullying and harassment. Nowadays, many young and reclusive users prefer livingin a virtual world on social sites to engaging in real-life relationships. For example, youngsters forget to enjoy the actual view, every individual always keeps busy on their phones, laptops. Some nations glued their eyes on the screen for a long time. Therefore, they fail to remember to do physical activities, which may cause health problems like obesity. To conclude, although social media can have certain negative effects like wastage of time, living life in the virtual world, it has an extremely positive influence on people lives as they will never feel alone in the world. I believe that these benefits of social media outweigh its drawbacks.