The problem of homelessness is on the rise in several significant urban centers globally. What is the main cause of this problem and what measures could be taken to sove it by communities and governments?

The issue of homelessness is rising in some cities across the world. This case is attributed to the soaring price of houses. To address this problem, the government should provide cheaper housing options to citizens. Homelessness is mainly caused by the high mortgage rates, hence folks have lower affordability to buy a place. Owning to this condition, homeowners tend to stay and opt to delay their intention to sell the house. Therefore, the number of buildings open for sale in the market decreases where demand is still high, causing the house prices to skyrocket. Individuals who are living with minimum standard wages inevitably face difficulty in finding places to reside. They have to pay not only higher principal but also higher interest. Therefore, some people may end up homeless because they cannot afford a place to live. For example, in 2021, the US authority reported that there was a noticeable increase in the number of homeless due to the housing prices that stayed persistently high during that time. In this predicament, the government should actively provide more residential buildings to its citizens. The lack of available homes in the market directly raises the price. To efficiently solve this problem, there should be more supply. The authority shall provide subsidies to targeted folks and incentivize the developers to construct new affordable housing buildings. Therefore, individuals have more access to this place and lower the number of homeless people. For instance, the local government of Singapore built more apartments to provide affordable units for its citizens in 2023. In conclusion, the rising issues regarding homelessness in cities are caused by growing mortgage rates which is the main problem for people whose incomes are at the minimum standard. The role of authority to provide more residential buildings is essential to maintain the market price and affordability.