People should work a fixed number of hours per week and employers should not ask anybody to work extra hours. discuss both of views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the growth of competition, there is a need for people to work extra hours per week and managers should also encourage their team members to invest more time. On the other hand, many humans believe that in order to remain healthy and stressed free they should only work for a fixed number of hours and avoid overtime. This essay will further discuss both perspectives with relevant examples. To begin with, in the present world of competition, it is very important to invest more time on the job as it demands it. Giving more time to work does not mean that one should compromise their family/social life but to meet the commitments. Employees should do overtime only when it is required. It should not affect their health. For instance, many companies that have a culture of flexible work timings are more productive and successful as compared to those that do not. On the contrary, organizations, where employees do their 9 to 5 jobs, are less productive. Moreover, the chances of their growth and promotion also decrease. Although they go home timely and spend quality time with family, they are unable to justify their work to their managers. For example, workers of many government organizations are unable to grow their careers because of the traditional mindset of fixed timings. In conclusion, one should not make a habit of overtime as it will impact the health and social life. People should be ready to give extra time to their work whenever required or to fulfil their commitments.