In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many traditions, parents always taught their children that if they try hard enough, they can complete everything they would like. This message can provide both benefits and drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, both of these viewpoints will be discussed in detail before a conclusion is reached. On the one hand, one of the advantages of telling the children to work hard is that it can motivate them to accomplish their goals. In other words, if they are exhausted or disappointed, this message can encourage them to keep on being patient for what they would like. Furthermore, it makes them feel better when they are disheartened. For example, when students who worked hard to get a top score fail the test, telling this message to them will make them feel good and try harder to get a top score. On the other hand, the obvious disadvantage of this speech is that it can discourage the children when they cannot achieve their goals, To illustrate, when junior athletes who practised seriously are defeated, they will think that this speech is not true and no longer put their efforts. In addition, it can make the children feel like they fail when the result was not what they expected. In other words, when the children who set up their objectives and work hard to reach those goals become disappointed, they may think that they are failures and in some cases, they may commit suicide. To summarize, although teaching the children to work hard in order to carry out their goals will offer vast advantages, it may also discourage them and make them feel like they are failures.