Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current times, there is a change in many offices design, rather than separate rooms it has become one open area for all employees. The drawbacks of this type of layout, such as more noise and crowding, outweigh their benefits as more teamwork and fewer facilities will be required. This essay will discuss these ideas in-depth in the following paragraphs. The change in the design of working offices leads to more noise in the institution and that noise outweighs the benefit of such a layout. Because as more noise in the working site, that is mean less creativity and eventually less productivity by the workers. In the USA, for example, the rate of production in companies with one open space design is less than that with separate rooms according to the last research published by the Newyork University in 2020. Without separate rooms for each group of,employees they can not focus on their work and do more creative jobs. Therefore, the noise drawback outweighs the teamwork benefit of one space layout in the working offices. Also, one area for all workers means more crowding and that may cause many problems. In other words, the crowding among employees is responsible for issues such as more arguments and the spread of illness. For instance, the rate of Coronavirus cases among companies with open space was higher than other companies with an old design according to a report published by the World Health Organisation in 2020. Without such a layout, issues such as diseases may not take place at the higher level among the workers. As a result, this disadvantage outweighs the design benefit as less required facilities. In conclusion, this essay highlighted that the impacts of one space design as less production rate and risk of diseases spread outweigh their advantages such as more working team and fewer facilities will be required by such layout.