One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

One serious issue facing nearly all large urban areas is traffic jams. The main reason for this is that there are too many private cars on the roads these days and a viable solution is to introduce more park-and-ride schemes. The number of cars on the roads increases year on year, with most families now having more than one car. Most people prefer the convenience of travelling when they want rather than being restricted to public transport timetables, so they drive themselves rather than take a tram, train or bus. This is despite the fact that they frequently encounter long traffic queues as they near the city centre. Every week, I have meetings in the city on three different days. I always drive because I have more control over when I leave home and when I arrive at the meeting place. By taking public transport I am exposing myself to the vagaries of tram timetables, canceled train services and often overdue buses all of which cause unnecessary stress and vexation. Take the car or take public transport; usuallt the car is the transport of choice. A solution that is proving successful in many areas is park-and-ride schemes. This is where you park your car for free in a large car park on the edge of the city centre and take a free bus which will drop you off near to your destination. The fact that both parts of Park-and-Ride are free make the scheme very attractive and this public transport system is generally very regular, running every ten minutes or so. A survey carried out in the city of Newcastle showed that the rush hour congestion decreased by 10% when the council set up a park-and-ride scheme to the north of the city. There was an additional drop of another 10% in traffic volume when a second scheme began operating to the south. Significant reductions in cars on-the-road can be easily and economically achieved. To conclude, the major urban problem of traffic congestion caused by the excessive number of private vehicles on city roads can be partly alleviated by the introduction of park-and-ride schemes on city fringes. I would choose to use one if it was available in my area.