Some people say that protecting the environment is the governments responsibility. others believe that every individuals responsibility for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, as awareness for green issues is constantly on the rise, the appeal for protecting the environment is steadily gaining momentum. Many have required the government to wield its power on the preservation, whereas others insist to suggest individuals take the responsibility. In my opinion, while the government does have the ability to mitigate relevant problems, it is the public who can have a long-term impact on the environment. Authorities need to shoulder the task of nature conservation due to their power in law enforcement. Once the laws and regulations are launched aiming at restricting the exhausting of wastes and pollutants, the government can use its authoritative means to ensure they are implemented effectively. For example, they can impose fines on big businesses that operate at a high cost to the environment or arrest or charge those who are engaged in hunting for sports or profits, which could severely endanger various species and damage biodiversity. However, it should be recognized that there is a problem of relying solely on the concerned departments, the lack of supervision. Sometimes it is difficult for policy-makers to realize the contamination issues or to monitor the behaviour of organizations constantly. Besides, regulating and investing in such initiatives would mean a heavy financial budget for the government. In fact, every citizen involved should raise their awareness and participate in the protection of the natural world. Every year, household wastes account for a large proportion of pollutants to the earth. The most effective method to solve this is that the public changes their mindset and daily behaviour, such as remembering to turn off the water tap, avoiding unnecessary usage of home appliances and attempting to sort and recycle the trash. These tiny shifts in habits, once formed and practised automatically, can have a long-term beneficial influence on resource conservation and garbage reduction. Furthermore, even ordinary consumers can affect the giant companies which pursue profits by destroying our planet. For example, there were cases where customers joined together to refuse to purchase products from a notorious organization, managing to push it to stop releasing contaminated water into rivers. To conclude, I believe that the mere reliance on authoritative departments for green issues is inadequate and can cost much; instead, the more efficient way is to engage every individual in conservation.