It is often said that crime is one of the main things that make the quality of life poorer. Crime in developed countries is one of the biggest problems in society. What are the causes of this problem and what measures can be taken to reduce it?

In recent times, crime remains the biggest hurdle that developed countries are facing. The spread of violence has been tremendously threatening citizens' quality of life. Poor parenting, as well as, the lack of education represent the main causes of this issue, whilst governments' measures and sensitizing parents on the impact of education are considered as the most viable solutions. First and foremost, the root causes of this problem are related to the social discrimination of this part of the population and their parents ' impact on their education. Indeed, a plethora of criminals did not have access to schools and universities because of a myriad of circumstances. Therefore, they tend to go through illegal ways in order to gain some pocket money as they consider not having another way out to survive. In addition, parents play a key role in this process. For instance, a recent survey conducted in the US showcased that the overwhelming majority of criminals suffered from a mental trauma in their childhood ages which can explain their further misdemeanours. Poor parenting results in calamitous consequences for their children, hence, it is a crucial source of this problem. On the other hand, the onus is on the parents as well as the government to overcome these hardships. In other words, developed countries must sensitize parents about the importance of a good education. Moreover, the latter should endeavour on instilling patriotism, good values and great principles on their children's heads in order to avoid such behaviours that menace our society. Furthermore, the government should take the initiative to eradicate this trend. It can be applied if they straighten the laws and prison sentences concerning crimes for example. This attitude will undeniably impact burglars, thieves, murderers, and felons as they will be frightened about the huge consequences of their acts. To sum up, crime's death toll has sparked heated debates as citizens are more and more concerned about the quality of life in their country. Intertwining the parents ' efforts with the government's measures remain the most efficient initiatives to erase this phenomenon.