living in a foreign country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Languages in the world are only the way for effective communication, so it’s important to know about the language of the country where you are living, to express yourself and understand others in an effective manner. In my opinion, if you don’t know the language or only have some basic idea, then that could have a negative social impact and cause serious practical problems. Today we are living in a more socialized kind of world, where we come into contact with different people of different nationalities and cultures. So, it has become important than ever to know the language if you are living as a foreigner in another country, which is not your home country. Another reason you should know the language is social, which is the most important factor. If you are not able to socialize with the local people because of your weak command of the language then it could have negative consequences, which would be limiting your ability to mix into the society and hence you would lose the chance to become an important and valuable member of that society. The second reason as it is raised in the question, that there are some practical issues also, which can fail a person in becoming successful, for example, if a person wants to do some job in a particular field and due to the language deficiency he is not able to communicate well, so that would limit that persons ability to find a good job and ultimately become a burden on the community, as well as on the country, where he or she is living. I know one of my friends had this issue, he moved to one of the European countries for a better future, but when he reached there, he failed in learning the local language despite trying very hard for a long period of time and came back home. Whereas, I know another person who was from the same nationality, he learned that language very quickly and now he is a respectable member of the society and he is working in a private sector. So the conclusion is that language is the key to success if you want to succeed in a foreign country.