Some people think that parent should teach children how to be good members of the society .Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss bought of this argument and give your opinion.

Children, the next billion, are the future of a country and its progress. Similar to a sapling that needs the right nutrition to grow into a strong tree, children must be moulded into good members of society for a country to prosper. Some people believe that the parents are responsible for creating good citizens while others believe it is a school's responsibility to do so. A school is a place where the children spend close to 12 years of their lives. It in itself is a society with friends, family, seniors, and juniors. It also includes teachers and staff members who are the adults in society. The teachers are not just responsible for teaching subject materials but also life skills such as disciple, obedience, time management, social skills, conflict resolution and much more. The children can learn all this in school and practice the skills there. This on-hands experience can help mould children into good citizens. In comparison, Parents are the ones who bring the child into this world. They take care of their kids from day one and will take care till the end of their time. Evidently, parents have a better understanding of their kid's nature, character, strengths and weaknesses. This understanding would enable parents to guide the kids in developing good manners, and imbibe life skills in a more personal manner. For instance, when I was a small child I used to ride the bike on the wrong side of the road. My dad took note of this and taught me why it was important that I drive on the left side of the road. He also taught me why following traffic rules is really important, imbibing the idea that I must follow the traffic rules properly. A personalized approach can help a child gain a deeper understanding of society and act accordingly. To summarize, school is a model society where children can practise the life skills to be good members of a community and parents are the mentors who can help develop a kid's life skills with a personalized approach. In my opinion, parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Reason being that schools might be a good place to practice the skills but the child might not receive the personalized attention that they might require.