The job market today is very competitive and it is best to choose a career or field of study early in order to get a good job later in life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increase in population and demand for generic roles, the competition is super high. Some people believe that choosing a path of study at an early age will mean that the chances of landing a relevant role are higher because of the rise in competition. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree partially with this narrative for reasons like immaturity and the negative influence of parents when going through adolescence. To begin, it is widely believed that picking an area of study as early as possible is pivotal to being successful in future. Familiarity and time spent are the main reasons why this belief exists. Furthermore, it is also worth noting that it gives us a chance to learn more and experiment more to help shore up the skills needed. For instance, various roles in information technology require a subset of skills from various languages to be considered. The longer we study and the more knowledge we have, the higher the chances of landing the desired role. On the other hand, the problem with starting young as an adolescent is that in many cultures, there is not enough exposure and decisiveness to see what fits them career-wise. This will in turn mean that, even if they were to land a role for which they spent their valuable time, the odds are they will be miserable. Moreover, the negative influence of parents in wanting their teen to be something they are not passionate about cannot be understated. For this reason, teens should be given enough time to decide what fits them and this will sometimes mean that they start late which is not necessarily bad because the more passionate they are in the field they choose, the higher the chances of success in lesser time. Finally, to conclude, I partially disagree with the position that we need to choose the area of study early to be successful while knowing that there is merits such as time and familiarity built over a long period will help. The primary focus should be on proper exposure and making the right career choice as that will expedite success in most cases because of passion and drive to succeed.