The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

For a few years, the worldwide population have shown an increasing trend. Some believe that this growth is the greatest problem that inhabitants have experienced. I agree with the statement due to the consequences of an increasing population. First of all, in most developed countries, the inhabitant's constant increase is thanks to the availability of natural resources. Many ecosystems have been exploited to sustain individuals' lifestyles. For instance, most countries have clean water to develop their daily routines. Also, agriculture in those places gives enough food to sustain individuals' needs. Thus, there is no necessity of creating birth control programs. Moreover, almost nobody is aware of the problems that would cause the overuse of resources from the environment. I would like to mention that, although these days there are a lot of resources available for consumption, the increasing population is a major source of concern around the world. If the number of individuals continues to rise, the environment would suffer the consequences. For example, a larger number of people mean more cars. Then, more fossil fuels would be used. As a result, fuel combustion would create way more pollution in most cities. In addition, since more inhabitants travel each year, the possibility of spreading a lethal disease has increased as well. To conclude, the ecosystems sustain life on earth, yet, the constant increase of inhabitants has caused a major problem in the history of societies in the entire world. If people do not start to use eco-friendly options daily, the problem would get worse.