Animal habitats have been destroyed, and some animal species (e.g the tiger and the rhino) have become endangered. Why does this happen? What can be done to protect endangered animals?

The loss of animal habitats as well as the decrease in biodiversity is one of the most dire problems the world is facing. In the following essay, I will discuss the reasons behind this issue and propose some solutions to address this problem. First and foremost, wildlife habitats are being destroyed as a result of the industrialization process. Simply put, industrial waste is discharged directly into the environment such as rivers and soil, without going through any process of eliminating toxic substances. For example, Formosa released poisonous waste directly into the river, poisoning water and destroying marine lifeforms, Moreover, deforestation is also a great example of this case, in which forests are cut down for building factories and resorts. Furthermore, poaching is the most prominent why some animals are driven to the verge of extinction. This is due to the fact that many people believe that animals’ parts such as horns and bones have the extraordinary medical capabilities to increase health and durability, and in some cases, could help people extend their longevity. For instance, rhinos are hunted illegally for their horns, since many people believe that they have the ability to cure cancer. This reduces their numbers to the point there are less than one hundred left. However, some solutions could be employed to tackle this problem. Firstly, the government should issue laws and regulations relating to environmental and fauna protection, such as charging a hefty fine for any company or enterprise that does not employ proper industrial waste procedures and forcing corporations to close their business should they violate these regulations. Moreover, to protect biodiversity, the authorities could create national parks and reservation centres, and deploy rangers to protect endangered species from illegal hunting. This is also a good way to raise awareness among citizens about the importance of preserving biodiversity on our planet. In conclusion, industrialization and poaching are two main reasons for the loss of wildlife habitats and why some species are on the brink of extinction. To address this issue, the government should promulgate laws and regulations to prevent animals from being hunted illegally and build more national parks and reservation centres to protect wildlife.