People are now choosing universities over colleges. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

These days, it is becoming more popular for high school graduates to study at universities rather than colleges. Although the negative aspects are varied, in my opinion, it should be considered as a positive development due to the following reasons. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks when more people choose to study at universities compared to colleges. First of all, many colleges may face the risk of closing owing to the low registration. These things can cause some inconveniences for those who do not want to study in a too academic environment like universities as well as to get a degree earlier for finding a job. Besides, private organizations take advantage of the increasing demands of people about owning formal university qualifications, so many private universities are established for the main aim of earning profits instead of focusing on training and education. In the long run, a low-quality labour force from these universities may hinder the development of the national economy. On the other hand, I am more convinced that it will be a positive trend when the number of university students is higher than college ones. The first reason is that this can be a catalyst for the development of society with better living standards. In this competitive world, university qualifications are the prerequisite requirement in almost every career opportunity since the business practice has also dramatically changed in a developed way and requires many qualities from employees. For instance, university degree holders can have a competitive edge over college graduates when applying for big corporations or multinational companies. It is undeniable that university students are trained with in-depth specialised knowledge along with essential soft skills such as teamwork, presentation and communication skills. In addition, the intellectual labour in society can increase, meaning that highly technological fields can have chances to witness many considerable breakthroughs. In other words, they can become valuable assets of a nation and make great contributions to improving the economic situation or people’s lives through innovative inventions. In conclusion, the fact that people tend to choose universities over colleges can have some demerits, yet I hold a firm belief that it is overall a positive trend as it contributes to a developed nation and generates a more highly-skilled workforce.