Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, an increasing number of people with health issues are testing out alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Personally, I think that this development may produce damaging results because of the varying nature of alternative treatments. For this reason, I believe the aforementioned change to be a negative turn of events. Replacement methods of healthcare have been on the rise in popularity recently. These newfound or rediscovered approaches are not bound to a particular region of the world, and they certainly have their pros, but I’m afraid their cons outweigh them. As a result of the fact that most of these treatments don’t go through proper inspection or background checks, con artists will find it easy to take advantage of the average person by falsely advertising these practices. For instance, a woman who’d fractured a bone in an accident was led to believe that trying acupuncture would accelerate the recovery process, so she chose this method instead of going to see a professional and suffered long-term, avoidable damage. When faced with sickness, seeking help from a certified professional like a doctor is the best approach for many reasons. A physician has undergone years of training to aid a patient in their time of need. Also, if you visit your usual physician instead of just anybody, it’s highly likely they will know how to help you in the best way possible; as a result of having access to your medical history. As an example, my uncle’s wife suffered an accident when skating and broke her arm. In the hospital, they administered a type of medicine she was allergic to, and that slowed down her recovery. Had she had access to a doctor who knew her medical history well enough, this could’ve been averted. All in all, the current surge of non-conventional methods amongst people has caused a decrease in the number of patients who consult an actual physician. This circumstance will yield harmful outcomes for the public’s health, if it is not dealt with soon.