When people learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, speaking, reading and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

learning a new language is becoming very common in todays' time as the world is continuously globalizing at a very quick pace. While, learning a few words of a new language may be of some benefit but when it comes to communication, all four of the skills{ listening, speaking, reading and writing) are equally necessary. Thus, I completely agree with the notion of mastering all four skills in a foreign language. With an uphill trend in the migration of students to other countries for higher education, it is becoming very important for them to know the language of the place they are visiting, as the education imparted in their institutions often would be in the local language. For instance, it often becomes difficult to understand the lectures given by the teachers, if one is not skilled enough in listening. Also, notes taking ability gets compromised, if a student is not trained enough to write the ideas clearly. Furthermore, good reading skills, power a person to completely understand a passage clearly and in quick time. For instance, a student who is weak at reading will often take more time in finishing his work and the clarity of the text which he is supposed to understand, gets compromised. Additionally, speaking fluently and correctly makes a person look more intelligent as it helps him to express his ideas in full with confidence. To conclude, I completely believe that, while learning a foreign language, equal time and attention is to be given to all four skills. It not only helps one to communicate effectively but also opens a wide number of opportunities.