Some people believe that criminals should be put into prison as long as possible. However, others believe that it is necessary to educate those people in local community. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People tend to have different views about how criminals should be dealt with. While keeping lawbreakers in prisons for a long time can uphold an ordered society, I believe giving them another chance to learn how to be good citizens would bring more advantages to the local community. On the one hand, I think it is possible to deter people from breaking laws by directly sending criminals into lockups, as prison life probably means bringing some convicts the constant threat of violence. However, strict jail terms may also harden a convict against society as a result of brutalising treatment he or she receives, especially when prisoners stay in jails for too long. This could not prevent their future crimes. For example, if teenagers are abetted to commit crimes and are put into prisons for years, they would probably be repeat offenders, because they see so much cruel behaviour in jails and do not what is right and wrong. On the other hand, education has always been an effective means of crime prevention. For one thing, some people commit crimes because of the lack of knowledge rather than breaking laws deliberately. They need to have a chance to learn basic knowledge. For another, those at the bottom of society are likely to be tempted into a life of crime as a solution to their problems. If they can receive appropriate courses in their local community, they might learn skills that can help them live a normal life. For instance, if a pickpocket learns how to drive and have a driver licence, he or she can find a proper job and then get out of the past life. In conclusion, I understand why some people want lawbreakers to be sent to prisons as long as possible, but it seems to me that it is more practical to provide proper education for criminals to curb lawless behaviour.