some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one. Give reasons for your answers and give relevant examples from your experience.

In recent times, mobile phones usage has become popular in schools which have led to some schools putting a limit or completely banning its use. This is an idea I completely support and this essay would be discussing my reasons for this and cite relevant examples. The majority of young people in schools own a mobile telephone that is increasingly becoming a source of distraction to their education. One important advantage of restricting its use in the classroom itself is that it can improve learning. The constant ringing and buzzing from these devices especially from social media platforms in addition to the inability to resist the urge to respond results in decreased concentration both for the teacher and student. If this trend persists, it would consequently lead to a fall in the student's grades, hence, banning telephone usage in classes may be a more reasonable way to avoid this. Another reason in favour of limiting telephone usage is that it improves socialization and communication. A lot of individuals spend enormous time on the phone chatting and interacting with individuals they barely know and may never meet rather than those around them. This in turn reduces their interpersonal skills and they may eventually not be able to form meaningful relationships which is an important contributor to a well-balanced life. For example, so many youth centres around the UK have been shut down due to a decline in attendance. It turns out that the youngsters find these social gatherings boring and prefer spending time on their mobile phones leading to an isolated life. In conclusion, the invention of mobile phones is one of the best things that happened to mankind as it aids easy communication but nowadays students are using them recklessly and this is really affecting their education so a ban on the use of phones in the classroom is an ideal method to combat this problem.