Some people believe that travelling is a valuable experience; other say it is a waste of time and money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People seem to be either excited or worried about travelling. The benefits of travelling are not hard to spot out but there is another voice saying that travelling is wasting time and money. I will discuss both perspectives and give my own opinion. On the one hand, travelling is definitely a valuable experience for individuals for multiple obvious reasons. To begin with, going abroad brings a unique memory for every young child and might even initiate the youth to learn a second language. Based on various statistics, children at a young age are easier to obtain different language skills than adults. Secondly, travelling would also give an opportunity for us to meet new people and get to know a different culture. For example, I had a chance to travel to Tibet when I was in primary school. After the trip, I was fascinated by their culture and I had read a variety of books about it. On the other hand, travelling can be a luxury thing for many of us. For most of the white collars, we don’t have much free time after an 8 to 12-hour shift every day. Especially for those working in East Asian countries, the annual leave days are extremely limited. Spending all your holidays travelling is a very expensive choice. Moreover, travelling is associated with a large number of costs such as flight tickets, hotel bookings as well as travel insurance. Therefore, it is not uncommon for people to believe travelling is not worthwhile after all consideration. In conclusion, I am both fascinated by the unparalleled experience we could have from travelling and apprehensive about its possible financial burden. I would recommend people to make a decision based on their own situation.