Today high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People are calling into question the power of advertising on individuals’ decisions to purchase marketable products rather than communities’ high demand. In my perspective, the statement is completely true and the active role of advertisements is undeniable. Compelling reasons behind this issue will be elaborated in on the following paragraphs. First of all, advertising has assisted companies by utilizing astonishing photographs to indicate their inferior merchandise as high-quality ones. Simply put, this is highly likely to convert rational consumers to impulsive people that can dramatically soar the agencies’ turnover rate. To illustrate more, not only has buying impulsively not met customers’ needs, but it also can lead to converting this trait into a negative habit. Consequently, factories can possess best-seller products. For example, ones who are into clothing, by seeing attractive images that have been taken by professional photographers fail to control themselves to order them from online websites like ‘Amazon’. Furthermore, another reason for selling plenty of goods via the advertising industry is more likely to be having a major impact on children. Advertising has placed a premium on the children as a huge potential of buying merchandise. By stimulating children through TV commercials, parents can be put under severe pressure by their children to purchase products for them. As a result, advertisers are bound to rocket their sales rate and enhance their revenue. For example, a child who has a lot of car toys, by watching an advertisement on their television might want to have another one. In conclusion, advertising’s role in boosting the rate of selling unnecessary goods is by no means negligible. I completely believe that while they can trigger impulsive buying behaviours in both adults and children, factories have taken a proper method into consideration to sell their products more and more.