In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is certainly the case that the motivations of athletes to gain the championship have changed from the ambitions, such as the desire of winning or breaking the records to money or the chance to be a celebrity. In the following essay, I will discuss how this trend affects young people and change the sports environment. Since many youngsters see sports stars as their role models, this change in sports stars' attitudes will influence youngers negatively. In the past, sporting champions loved sports they play and sharpened their ability to improve their performance in the game. This encouraged the teenagers who saw athletes as their role models to practice hard to achieve their goals. However, nowadays, players regard sports as a tool to become famous and to gain more financial benefits. These facts send teenagers the message that financial initiatives and famous are the main reason for people to work hard. This message somewhat distorted younger values. Turning to the sports themselves, motivated by financial rewards or famous hurts the sports environment by increasing sports players ' incentive to cheat in the game. This is because for players the most important reason to participate in the races is money rather than skills or ability. They do not care about whether they have enough ability to win the prize or not; instead, they are only concerned about whether they can get enough compensations from the match. Hence, to achieve this goal, players use every possible way, including cheating in the race. Boxing, for example, is well known for its high rewards; hence, many boxing players use illegal drugs to get an advantage in matches. In conclusion, changing in attitude to sports not only sends the wrong message to young people, distorting their values but also hurts the sports environment.