Today we can see excessive consumption of natural resources such as air, fresh water, oil, and so on. The usage is increasing at a very dangerous pace and is already reaching critical levels. What are the reasons contributing to this? What should be done to minimize the effects?

In the present day, there is excessive use of natural resources and is reaching a peak of becoming scarce. This is caused by overpopulation and advancements in technology. However, there are many ways to reduce its negative impact. The most significant factor that leads to a decrease in nonrenewable resources is the advancements in technology. Most products manufactured by industries nowadays use fuel as a source of energy. For example, the massive production of cars and aeroplanes that depend on diesel is therefore leading to a decrease in such forms of energy. Another reason would be the ever-rising population as a result of urbanisation and migration. This cases could be seen in countries like Lebanon faced a dramatic reduction of valuable resources in the year 2006 after four million migrants came into the country. This consequently affected the people's quality of life. On the other hand, there are several ways to deal with these problems. Firstly, using vehicles that work on electricity would be a better option than cars that require non-renewable energy. Secondly, the government should provide access to products that rely on renewable sources such as solar panels and wind turbines to avoid scarcity of oil and gas. For instance, studies have proven that the majority of houses in the United States have been built with solar on their roofs. As a result, the reliance on diesel to generate electricity has reduced drastically. In conclusion, there are several factors that lead to scarcity such as overcrowding as well as technological development. In contrast, there are several ways to solve them the government aiding and funding other alternatives, making them available to the public, and highlighting the importance of sustainability