Some of local languages are becoming extinct. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Without any doubt, languages are essential tools of communication. It is asserted by some people that local languages are on the edge of dying. Although the disappearing of indigenous dialects has some benefits, the drawbacks involved are of importance to be scrutinised. On the plus side, it may appear that the extinction of indigenous languages proves beneficial. The first underlying justification is concerned with improving the mutual understanding among individuals around the world. To be more precise, when people speak with one particular lingo, they have better communication. The fewer number spoken languages, the less misunderstanding among people from different parts of the globe. Therefore, communication become easier and convenient. An obvious example of this is nowadays, English has become the dominant language of social media that helps individuals make friends with strangers effortlessly so it automatically leads to the disappearance of local tongues. Moreover, trade among countries would be more unchallenged. Simply put, the world has become a global village and speaking with a single and common language leads to reducing the number of errors in this regard. However, the downsides of the extinction of indigenous tongues should not be underestimated. To begin with, this phenomenon has destructive cultural impacts. In other words, it causes the culture and traditions of natives are disappearing. Thus, they may be faced with an identity crisis which gives them a sense of anonymity and dissatisfaction. Furthermore, linguistic diversity that includes all of the local lingos keeps local traditions and customs alive which are a backbone of every society. In conclusion, the disappearing of local languages would be both rewarding and problematic. While it helps nations get closer together in terms of better understanding, this trend has more dire consequences for native and local cultures.