Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

In modern society, crimes are one of the concerns. It is often said that many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. There is a reason for this and there are some measures to solve this problem. The first aspect to point out is that criminals can learn how to commit more severe felonies by interacting with other inmates. As they stay in jail, they will build relationships. As a result, they may exchange ideas for committing felonious activities. Therefore, some offenders may become conditioned to adopt a more harsh criminal mentality. However, there are some solutions to this negative trend. For example, firstly, prison reform should be taken into consideration. It is often claimed that prisoners are mistreated by correctional officers and jail staff which affects their attitude when it comes to rehabilitation. Therefore, prison reform should be introduced and changes in jail systems should be implemented. Another important issue is that the onus is on the government to make more strict punishment for those reoffending. For instance, they could stay in jail much longer than the initial sentence or they need to attend educational programmes held by the government or police officers. These attempts would reduce the number of reoccurring misconducts in society. To conclude, there is a reason for having reoccurring crimes in communities. In order to solve this negative trend, the education of police officers should be taken into consideration by reforming the jail system. Additionally, severe punishments should be allowed if people repeat violations.