Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Motorways are one of the major means of transportation all over the globe. Most of the people from the world use it to travel over short and long distances. Even from low to high profile peoples use it to address their needs as well as their crowds. Although, this means of transportation infrastructure has a lot to offer, it also leaves us with downsides. Among,them one of the major is the impact on the natural habitat of wild animals and living creatures. Similarly, it also increases the pollution level in the nearby surroundings. These are discussed further below and the possible solutions will be provided with their detailed study. Firstly, there are several impacts on the habitat of the living creatures of the nearby area. For instance, the Mahendra Highway, the one touching most of the forest area of the Terai region of Nepal had caused to loss of life of several wild animals in the forests. Every year most of the tigers and wild pigs are killed by the vehicles passing through it. This had also led to the extinction of some of the animals. Similarly, the people living nearby to the road experience several kinds of deterioration leading to health issues. These kinds of abuse mostly include sound and air pollution. For example, Kathmandu city, the capital city of Nepal was categorised as the world's second most polluted city. One of the studies conducted by the Nepal government stated that, the cause of the increase of the pollutants were solely due to vehicular moment on the road. In conclusion, although there are upsides to the motorways, it also impacts the environment and the health of the nearby people. Therefore, proper solutions such as monitoring the vehicles of the roads for their standards control for the pollution and creating the bars so the wild can never enter the way will be necessary for the sustainability of the infrastructure.