In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Animals are known to be a major source of various necessities since the early ages of humanity. With the evolution of the world we live in, some people believe that animals shouldn't be used for food, clothing and medicine. In this essay, I will discuss why I partially disagree with this narrative because they serve an important role in the longevity and well-being of human beings. On the one hand, to begin, one of the primary sources of food for people has always been animals varying from livestock and even the wild animals in some parts of the world. The higher protein content that is available through livestock is not comparable to plant food. For instance, the protein amount that is available with chicken over hundred grams consumed is three times more than that of the chickpeas and beans which are widely considered one of the best sources of proteins for vegetarians. Furthermore, the flesh of animals can be used to create leather that is unique and helps protect us from cold way better than when artificial materials are used for preparation. For example, goat leather is widely used as an insulating material when preparing winter jackets. Moreover, body parts of animals are also widely known to be life-savers. Livestock and pigs are known to be a source of medications, anti-allergens and vaccines. For instance, diabetes is a condition that is treated by using the liver of a pig. Hence, the more lives saved without alternate ways, the harder it is to stop our dependence. On the other hand, there are technological advancements made towards limiting our reliance on animals and several people argue that we should no longer continue to use them as they are subjected to terrible conditions and brutality in some cases: an example of that is the livestock are limited to controlled environments and don't have any exposure to the sun which is a terrible way of living. Finally, the modern use of synthetic materials means that it is hard to justify killing wild animals for leather and other materials. The faster the introduction of alternative means, the quicker our dependence would end. In conclusion, I partially disagree with the statement that we should stop using animals for food and medicine as lives are saved on a day to day basis while making us stronger and healthier with the protein consumed. For the use of animals in clothing, however, I can agree that we can stop using animals due to artificial materials. There should also be a focus on finding alternate sources of protein and medicine so we can stop depending on them in future.